DIY Evaluation / Evaluation Inspirations

Just One More Hat

Like everyone, I’ve been “super busy”…

But this time it was for a “good cause”…

The State of Black Gay America Summit!  The State of Black Gay America Summit (SBGA) includes a luncheon and dialogue between community leaders, grassroots organizers, politicians, educators, clergy, health, the list goes on….about the successes and challenges the LGBT population is facing.

The event took place Labor Day Weekend in Atlanta, GA and my past role, you guessed it….glorified fact checker…the evaluator 🙂

This year I was registration coordinator and evaluation manager.

Switching roles was quite the task!!! Have you ever felt like you were running out of hats?!

Although I’ve helped out with registration in the past, the heavy lifting for me came from developing a survey that the group could agree on while…being a “straight ally”. This was a fun exercise for me in cultural competence, but I could not do it on my own. My colleagues from the AEA LGBT TIG were very helpful last year and even invited me to participate in one of their roundtables at the AEA Annual Conference last year, which I wrote about in a previous post.

Some of the best evaluation advice I received was to just go with the flow, in a sense, and to try to learn as much about the population(s) as I could. We’re all still learning how to cross every I and dot every…L… G… B…T… Q…the second Q…yea, the alphabet goes on. I’m looking forward to the day that I can do some qualitative data collection and analysis with this population(a whole post in itself!)

My mentor also suggested that I develop an evaluation team, which was one of the most important tasks that I took on! Someone from the community, as well as another evaluator really needed to review my survey tool, and I saved a lot of time when it came to data entry and analysis.

A few snippets from this year’s event…

Me, doing my best at registering people for the Summit!

#team registration my grad school colleague and friend, Neyamka Johnson(volunteer coordinator/evaluation assistant) with one of her wonderful volunteers at Unity Fellowship Church!

Fundraising/registration event…I think they’re working! Darlene Hudson(co-chair), Mellonee Rheams(financial and operations manager), Ashe Helm-Hernandez(special projects and media manager), Miko Evans(radio/media).

Oh yea,  Keith Boykin, former White House Aide and CNBC contributor gave a wonderful speech 🙂

I’ll be highlighting more from the SBGA Summit this week and the  LGBT TIG later in the year so stay tuned!

One thought on “Just One More Hat

  1. An interesting discussion is definitely worth comment.
    There’s no doubt that that you need to write more about this issue, it might not be a taboo subject but usually people don’t talk about such issues.
    To the next! Many thanks!!

What are your thoughts?

