Book/Literature Reviews / Evaluation Inspirations

Purposefully Random Reads-Virtual Book Club Kicks Off Next Week!

Pssst! I’ll let you in on a secret. If you didn’t already know I’m not a huge fan of reading books, thus the reason for my reviews of book reviews like this one found here.

If you’re like me(ADD ridden), or if you simply find pleasure in opening up a good book this is the place for you!

 Purposefully Random Reads (Virtual Book Club) should encourage:

  • A supportive, sharing environment
  • Practice exploration
  • Growth and development
  • Dialogue (feel free to share the book club links with colleagues by using the email and Twitter options below!)
  • Creating an online community with fellow readers on the journey to getting *on top of the box*

Inspirational Book Club Resources

I checked out Oprah’s Book Club 2.0 which launched this month

I also looked into Real Simple’s No-Obligation Book Club, a huge thanks to Molly Engle for the tip!

Resources within my post on starting a virtual book club

This week’s AEA Thought Leaders discussion, mentioned in my most recent post. Check out the original ebook, it is worth the read and directly inspired next month’s book! All AEA members should login and subscribe…now!

Most importantly I looked within, and at the work being done by evaluators and what we do it pretty much “where it’s at” if you’re into business, anthropology, policy, theory, methods, public health, education, social work, sociology, psychology, data visualization, hard sciences, the list goes on…

OUR SKILLS AND KNOWLEDGE ARE VITAL TO  MEASURING & INFORMING THE WORK OF THIS WORLD!!!

*ok, maybe that was a stretch, but you get the point

With that being said, as evaluators we have a commitment to certain principles and guidelines, particularly members of AEA, that include respect for people, and responsibilities for general and public welfare, which I find pretty interesting.

So, How’s This Going To Work?!

*One fine day I’ll have a fancy system in place like Oprah or Real Simple, but until then, please:

1. Enter your comments

2. Click the “Notify me of follow-up comments via email” 

3. Subscribe to receive updates and new posts on my home page (there should be 1 bookclub update post/week)

Starting July 2

Week 1-Read the short book, video, poem, etc. and Free Write!!! (comment on the posts and keep the party going, no major prompts)

Week 2-Pose Questions (group led and I will add a couple)

Week 3-Practice Implications

Week 4-Suggestions

Feel free to share your thoughts! I hope you’ll join me!

Enjoy your weekend!

3 thoughts on “Purposefully Random Reads-Virtual Book Club Kicks Off Next Week!

What are your thoughts?

