Uncategorized

Evaluation Deathmatch: Qualitative vs. Quantitative Methods {Humor}

Have you ever seen Celebrity Deathmatch on MTV? *I confess, I was a fan*

I’ll be featuring a slight twist on the show today, for evaluators, if it’s well received…maybe it will be a returning post topic! Enjoy!

In our right corner…

We have quantitative methods, dressed in a cloak, let’s call him The Count:

In our left corner…

We have qualitative methods, dressed in a striped t-shirt, let’s call him Ernie:

 

Our referee for the day will be none other than….Mixed Methods…better known as The Grouch!

So, the bell rings and Quantitative Methods(The Count) throws the first jab…*POW* he just hit Qualitative Methods (Ernie) with a t-test…

Qualitative Methods (Ernie) stumbles a little and shakes himself off, *SMACK* he hits Quantitative Methods(The Count) with a lifetime supply of markers he was using for coding all of his data…

This does not phase Quantitative Methods(The Count) much, he quickly shakes off all those markers and *BAM* drops a huge SPSS file on top of Qualitative Methods (Ernie) ‘s head, followed by SAS…

This is no match for all the data that Qualitative Methods (Ernie) has come across…*TAKE THAT* Nvivo, Atlas.ti, Dedoose…5,000,000 words easily just fell onto Quantitative Methods(The Count)…

I don’t think he will be able to recover…oh no, he’s going down…

Mixed Methods Referee (The Grouch) steps in…5…4…

Will Quantitative Methods(The Count) come back….

Mixed Methods Referee (The Grouch)…3…2…

Quantitative Methods(The Count) whispers something faintly…”I’m still statistically significant.”

Mixed Methods Referee (The Grouch)…1!

He’s down for the count! 🙂

THE CROWD GOES WILD!!!

In just a few rounds Qualitative Methods (Ernie) has TKO’d  Quantitative Methods(The Count)

Qualitative Methods (Ernie) final message: He had me there for a minute, statistical tests, SPSS, I thought he was going to throw a pile of surveys at me, but I guess he saw today that words indeed count!

*no one was harmed during this interaction, just Quantitative Methods(The Count) ‘s pride

____

The qualitative vs. quantitative methods discussion has gone on for ages it seems. At times it resembles the east coast/west coast battles. I am a lover of both, however you can see the side I lean towards based on the outcome of the fight! Who were you rooting for? Do you have a preference when it comes to methods?

Did you like the post style? If so, let me know in the comments below!

Click here for more Sesame Street fun!

3 thoughts on “Evaluation Deathmatch: Qualitative vs. Quantitative Methods {Humor}

  1. I’m impressed, I have to say. Actually rarely do I encounter a weblog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me let you know, you have got hit the nail on the head. Your thought is excellent; the problem is something that not sufficient persons are speaking intelligently about. I’m very completely satisfied that I stumbled across this in my search for something referring to this.

    • Thanks so much! I love to make people laugh and I couldn’t see myself blogging without some form of entertainment being infused, even on a not so entertaining(traditionally speaking) topic. I love research and evaluation so that makes it so much easier to pep it up a bit! My goal is to “stay on topic” and not to veer to far towards entertainment, it is a fine line to dance upon. I hope you’ll return!

      -Karen

  2. I must express my respect for your generosity giving support to individuals that have the need for help with this important question. Your personal dedication to getting the solution along turned out to be definitely beneficial and have frequently allowed workers much like me to realize their objectives. Your new informative guidelines implies a lot a person like me and far more to my fellow workers. Thanks a ton; from all of us.

What are your thoughts?

