Uncategorized

Quantifying Everyday Life

I went to the High Museum last weekend and I found 1 or 2 pieces somewhat interesting, but I was drawn into the work of Jasper Johns an artist born in the South in 1930, he later went to the University of South Carolina *I will reserve my comments-ok, I can’t go Tigers(Clemson)* and his work includes numbers, letter, maps, some simple tools and symbols that we use every day. The pictures below include Numbers, Zero to Nine, and Map of North America(some have a shared name).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One of my favorite pieces: Jasper Johns-White Numbers

Evaluators, what do you see? Numbers? Art? Both? Do you find yourself quantifying/”qualifying” things in everyday life?

What are your thoughts?

